Greenwich Disability Resource Centre

When I was living in London in 2010, I had a job supporting a visually impaired person in their role as manager of a local charity. The charity was based at Greenwich Disability Resource Centre, a venue for people with varying degrees of physical or learning disabilities. Although I only worked directly with one individual, I got to know many people there, both staff and service users, and suffice to say, a few characters too.

However, the centre was fairly run down and a date had been arranged for a major refurbishment, which would involve the temporary relocation of the service to another area.

Before this happened, I got permission to take some shots of the building as a personal memento, but ended taking pictures of many of the people there too, mainly at their St George’s Day celebrations.

Looking back, I feel quite humbled that I was able to capture a snapshot of life at the centre and at how welcoming people were to the idea. I’m not even sure if the centre still exists now as it doesn’t seem to be listed on the Greenwich Council website so I feel like these pictures have an extra special quality to them.

To view the series, please visit my Flickr page.

Author: alexjrankin

Journalism and short stories.

Leave a Reply

